Posted by: Trisha Leigh | October 8, 2010

Twitter Advice From a Real, Live, Junkie

I am a firm addict believer in Twitter for writers, for several reasons. The writing community is large, diverse, and very outspoken online. They offer support, friendship, laughter, understanding, and advice from those in a position to give it. Without Twitter I wouldn’t have found my first critique group, the blogs I read weekly, or figured out how to go about finding a reputable agent. The best thing Twitter offers me is the knowledge that even if I’m insane, I’m not alone. Creative types tend to spend so much time in our heads that it’s easy to think being different from other people means there’s something wrong with us. “Meeting” other writers on Twitter has bolstered my self-confidence in not only my craft, but in the sanity of my soul.

Here are four types of Tweeters that will make life more interesting.

The Sage: These are literary agents, editors, interns, and published writers who tweet and blog about queries, submissions, trends, and industry dealings on a weekly basis. This isn’t ALL agents and editors – some use Twitter in a more social way, which is fine (and usually super amusing). My suggestions in this category: Rachelle Gardner (@RachelleGardner), Sarah LaPolla (@sarahlapolla), Michelle Wolfson (@WolfsonLiterary), Weronika Janczuk (@WeronikaJanczuk), Kate Schafer (@DaphneUn), Elizabeth Jote (@GloriousPaper), and Nathan Bransford (@NathanBransford).

The Support Group: People who are at a similar writing stage to you – they will read and critique your work, talk you through when the querying/submission process makes you crazy, and give you feedback on new ideas. These are wonderfully supportive (unpublished) folks. Some have agents, some do not. Remember, it’s your duty to support them back. Denise Grover Swank (@DeniseMSwank), Eisley Jacobs (@EisleyJacobs), Regan Leigh (@ReganWrites), Megan Curd (@MeganCurd), Kerry Schafer (@KerrySchafer) Liana Brooks (@LianaBrooks), Patty Blount (@PattyBlount), and Julie Butcher (@jimsissy).

The Good Example: Twitter is, among many other things, a publicity tool. If used correctly, it can entice the people you interact with to buy your product. If done incorrectly, it more than likely will get you unfollowed or even blocked. I know I’m going to be SO EXCITED when my book comes out. You know what I’m not going to do? Tweet about it 24/7. Here are some authors and agents who, in addition to being awesome folks to chat with, use Twitter to their advantage. For the record, I’ve bought or will purchase books by (or represented by) each one of them based on their genuine ability to communicate. Bill Cameron (@bcmystery), Janet Reid (@Janet_Reid), Kiersten White (@kierstenwhite), Courtney Summers (@courtney_s), Courtney Allison Moulton (@CAMoulton), Nova Ren Suma (@novaren), Hannah Moskowitz (@hannahmosk), Jeff Somers (@jeffreysomers), Scott Tracey (@Scott_Tracey), Victoria Schwab (@veschwab), GaryCorby (@GaryCorby), and Leah Clifford (@LeahClifford).

The Crack-Up: I’ve heard the quip that Facebook is the people you went to school with; Twitter is the people you wish you went to school with. I follow and interact with several people on a weekly (sometimes daily) basis for no other reason than they make me laugh. The majority of them are writers, and come in handy when no one else gets me, but they’ve also become friends. As you engage online, you will build your own list of must-follows. This subjective list is mine. Bill Cameron (@bcmystery), Sean Ferrell (@byseanferrell), Beth Black (@elisabethblack) Kari Lynn Dell (@kidell), Susan Adrian (@Susan_Adrian), Linda Grimes (@linda_grimes), Tawna Fenske (@tawnafenske), Dan Krokos (@DanKrokos), Harley May (@harleymaywrites), and Gretchen McNeil (@GretchenMcNeil).

Just for fun, how about The Celebrity: They won’t reply back, but this (very short) list of celebs are interesting follows who talk about more than just their latest projects. Rob Thomas (@thisisrobthomas), Andy Roddick (@andyroddick), and Brooklyn Decker (@BrooklynDDecker).

So that’s it – the longest Follow Friday EVER, disguised as a blog post. Happy Tweeting!

Responses

  1. My name should be on all of those lists. Even the celebrity one. Screw you, Trisha. WE’RE THROUGH!

    • Thanks for reminding me I left out the category of The Twitter Bully, H. 🙂

      I STILL LOVE YOU.

  2. Awww. I’m honored to be on your Crack-Up list. (You sure that shouldn’t be “cracked”? Just sayin’…) And I’m glad my agent (Michelle Wolfson) made your Sage list. 🙂

    • Where else would the two of you be? And I mean to say the people on that list make me laugh, not that, you know, you’re “cracked up” per say. Though I can see the confusion when you read through the names… 🙂

  3. Twitter Advice From a Real, Live, Junkie « Behind the Moon…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  4. What’s a “Twitter?”

    • You know…the place where you met me. Ergo, the coolest place on the interwebs. The place to be, if you will.

  5. OOH, look at me. I love seeing my name in print. ♥.

    P.S. Who is Sean Ferrell?

  6. You forgot the “He’s Got Cooties” section, which would also include @byseanferrell. But definitely not me. (Thank you, Industrial RID®.)

    • Wow, I haven’t heart the word cooties in years. Well done you. Sadly, if there WERE a cooties section, I’m not entirely convinced that you would not belong to it as well.

  7. i think my entire twitter is just for crack-ups, though i also have the category keep-ups, where i use their posts to keep updated on their blog/writing since i have been too lazy to subscribe. keeps me busy between the @ laugh-fests.

    • As I’ve moved forward in my writing career I mostly just talk to the funny people (of whom you are one 🙂

  8. Eee! I think I follow ALL THOSE PEOPLE. 🙂 Thank you for including me on your list!

    • OF COURSE YOU ARE ON THE LIST.

  9. Aw, thanks so much for mentioning me! You notice how many of the crack ups are repped by either Janet Reid or Michelle Wolfson? Not sure what that means exactly, but it probably means something 🙂

    Tawna

    • It means Michelle and Janet are clearly putting something in our drinks! Dastardly!

      • I do not think you (or any of the other clients) can blame Janet or Michelle for your…unique natures.

    • I noticed that too. I never queried Janet with my MS (she doesn’t rep the genre), but had plans to get her attention by proclaiming myself a groupie of her clients. Sad, but true. I’ve noticed I’m not alone though.

  10. Great title, great post, loved it! And seriously, love this font!

    • Thanks again! Glad you enjoyed it.

  11. I’m flattered!

    You realize of course you forgot to mention yourself, under the heading Cool Tennis Chicks.

    • Aw, thanks Gary! I thought about a tennis heading; I do follow lots of those folks and they’re great 🙂

  12. Dude, I’m totally flattered. Although I don’t know that I’m much of a Good Example.

    Is there a category for Sarcastic Jerk? I think that’s where I’d be.

    • Good Example is secret code for Sarcastic Jerk. I mean, did you SEE the other people in that category?


Leave a Reply

Categories

