Posted by: Trisha Leigh | January 28, 2011

I Wish, and I Pick, and I Blow Your House Down. Not Really.

Okay, so I promised my thoughts on the Oscar nominations, so here goes nothing. I could get carried away, but I’m going to try to keep it short and sweet.

BEST ACTOR IN A LEADING ROLE

The Deserving: I’ve seen all the performances, with the exception of Javier Bardem, and they’re all deserving, wonderful actors.

The Snubbed: Ryan Gosling (Blue Valentine) Mark Whalberg (The Fighter)

I Wish: Colin Firth (The King’s Speech) or Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network)

I Pick: Colin Firth (The King’s Speech)

 

BEST ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

The Deserving: All

The Snubbed: No one come to mind.

I Wish: (hard choice) Christian Bale (The Fighter) or Geoffrey Rush (The King’s Speech)

I Pick: Christian Bale (The Fighter)

BEST ACTRESS IN A LEADING ROLE

The Deserving: All

The Snubbed: Julianne Moore (The Kids Are All Right)

I Wish: Natalie Portman (Black Swan) or Jennifer Lawrence (Winter’s Bone)

I Pick: Natalie Portman (Black Swan)

BEST ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE

The Deserving: Didn’t see (or even hear of) Animal Kingdom.

The Snubbed: Mila Kunis (Black Swan)

I Wish: Amy Adams (The Fighter) or Hailee Steinfeld (True Grit)

I Pick: Melissa Leo (The Fighter)

BEST DIRECTOR

The Deserving: All.

The Snubbed: Christopher Nolan (Inception), Danny Boyle (127 Hours)

I Wish: Darren Aronofsky (Black Swan)

I Pick: David Fincher (The Social Network)

BEST ADAPTED SCREENPLAY

The Deserving: All.

The Snubbed: Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World

I Wish: Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini (Winter’s Bone)

I Pick: Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)

BEST ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY

The Deserving: Didn’t see Another Year.

The Snubbed: Perhaps Blue Valentine, based on the buzz.

I Wish: Christopher Nolan (Inception)

I Pick: David Seidler (The King’s Speech)

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE

The Deserving: All.

The Snubbed: Tron was my favorite score of the year.

I Wish: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (The Social Network)

I Pick: Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross (The Social Network)

BEST PICTURE

The Deserving: I just don’t see The Kids Are All Right as a Best Picture. Sue me.

The Snubbed: With 10 spots, it’s hard to snub even Christopher Nolan. Still, a case could be made for The Town. I think it’s better than The Kids Are All Right. Lots better.

I Wish: The King’s Speech or Black Swan

I Pick: The Social Network

Do you agree with me? Not? I hope you entered Wednesday’s contest, or are planning to – we’ll see who’s right at the end of February!

What I’m watching right this second: NOTHING BECAUSE I’M IN NYC SQUEEEEE!!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Tron as your favorite score of the year. Interesting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

