Posted by: Trisha Leigh | April 8, 2011

Film Rec Friday – The Maiden Voyage

I’ve decided to try an experiment in which I highlight one of my favorite films for you each Friday. My choices will include not only films I adore, but ones I believe hold value for one reason or another. Only ones I consider a MUST SEE.*

I plan to mix it up between classic, modern, and those lovely inbetweeners from my childhood (the 80’s and 90’s). So here goes – my first recommendation to you.

Title: When Harry Met Sally (released July 21, 1989)

What It’s About: A man and a woman travel together from Chicago to New York and hate one another by the time they arrive. Over the course of the next 10+ years their paths continue to cross on occasion until they eventually become friends and struggle with the question, can men and women ever really be friends without sex getting in the way?

Who’s In It: Meg Ryan, Billy Crystal, Carrie Fisher

Favorite Quote: (so hard with this film): “You know, you look like a normal person but actually you are the angel of death.”

Why You Should See It: Now, I realize many of you have seen this film. I also bump into an astonishing number of people who haven’t seen it, and maybe haven’t even ever heard of it. I’m going out on a limb here to make this statement: this film contains perhaps the best dialogue ever written for the screen or anywhere else. It’s hilarious and real. The performances are spot on. In many ways, the characters and story are a bit reminiscent of Seinfeld. Nothing monumental happens to either one of them, and neither of them are particularly likable people, if we’re being honest.

The writing, the conversations, the questions asked and answered about the life we’re all living every day…that’s what makes this film worthy of your time. Though you may not like the characters, you will identify with their struggle to find love and happiness when so many disappointments litter our paths. I challenge each and every one of you to find me a better, tighter, wittier, more honestly written script. Ever. In the history of film. Go.

* For those readers who don’t know, I graduated from Texas Christian University with a degree in Film. This does not in any way make me better qualified to give my opinion on movies, but it does give me a wide repertoire of criticism with which to annoy you. I also write and edit television and movies for the pop culture website http://poptimal.com (which you should check out).

What I’m watching right this second: Bones.

 

 

Responses

  1. Agreed!Seen it more times I can count 🙂

  2. I love this movie! The dialogue especially. And that scene in the resataurant — you know the one I mean. Hilarious!

  3. Yeah, I’m one of the guilty ones who haven’t seen it. It sounds adorable! Putting it on my Netflix queue right now.

    I can’t believe how many people haven’t seen or read THE COLOR PURPLE. I’m not usually into serious movies or books, but that one….wow!

  4. Oh my word, I LOVE this movie. Best dialogue. So funny. I need to watch this again! It’s been too long.


Leave a Reply

Categories

