Posted by: Trisha Leigh | April 22, 2011

Film Rec Friday – An Oldie That’s Not Moldy

Title: The Philadelphia Story (released December 26, 1940)

What It’s About: A society woman about to marry for the second time ends up dealing with her ex-husband, drunken uncle, philandering father, and two reporters with nothing but disdain for her privledged place in the world in the days leading up to her wedding.

Who’s In it: Cary Grant, Katharine Hepburn, James “Jimmy” Stewart

Favorite Quote: “The time to make up your mind about people is never.”

Why You Should See It: This film is hilarious, for starters, and to my knowledge the only straight comedy Jimmy Stewart ever did. Which is a shame, because he might play the funniest drunk I’ve ever seen onscreen. The Philadelphia Story resurrected Katharine Hepburn’s career, and Mr. Cary Grant is as magnificent as he’s ever been. The story itself has heart and, in the great tradition of classic film, a lesson that needs to be heard. That, however, is not the reason to see the movie. See it because the comedy is brilliantly written and even better executed. In this day and age, when anything Will Ferrell barfs onto celluloid is supposed to be funny, it’s nice to be reminded that writers used to have to earn their laughs with tight dialogue, good pacing, and vivid characters who not only make us laugh, but make us care. This film may be old, it may be black and white, but if you don’t laugh out loud I’ll eat my cute TCU hat for breakfast.

What I’m watching right this minute: Bones. If you’ve given up on this show, tune back in because they have located the shark and climbed aboard.

Responses

  1. I am rapidly reaching the conclusion that you and I have the same taste in movies. I LOVE The Philadelphia Story — it’s one of my all-time favorites.

    P.S. Your blog seems to take forever to load. By which I mean it’s not instantaneous. I wonder why that is?

    • Hmm, that’s weird. Thanks for the heads up, I’ll see if I can figure it out. Also, have you watched The Man in the Iron Mask yet? I’m curious what you think!

      • Not yet — I’ve been waiting until TG has the time to watch it with me (he has too many shows going on right now), because he really loves costume dramas, too. I think we’re both going to love it. I’ll be sure and report back after we’ve watched. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

