Posted by: Trisha Leigh | May 6, 2011

Film Rec Friday: The Teenager Who Started It All

Title: Clueless (released July 19, 1995)

What It’s About: A spoiled daddy’s girl learns not to judge others by their looks and that doing good deeds has its own rewards, while quipping and valley girl talking her way into our hearts.

Who’s In It: Alicia Silverstone, Paul Rudd, Brittany Murphy, Donald Faison

Favorite Quote: “Anything happens to my daughter, I got a .45 and a shovel, I doubt anybody would miss you.”

Why You Should See It: This is the movie that started a couple of great movements. You think I’m kidding, but I’m not. The first thing it did was inspire classic novels being remade into contemporary retellings. After Clueless we were treated to films such as 10 Things I Hate About You (a Taming of the Shrew retelling) and She’s the Man (adapted from Twelfth Night), along with others I can’t think of off the top of my head. In addition, Clueless gave birth to a genre of film that takes the entertaining, sometimes vapid, always painful experience of high school and takes it one step farther. That extra step makes these films funny, but more than that, it offers up the ability to laugh at the experiences that can (or did) have the ability to break us into pieces. Some of Clueless’ children are (of course) Mean Girls, and more recently Easy A. We’re talking about the ones that were done well, of course. The films that offer something more than just teen drama and dig deeper into the layers of absurdity that color growing up.

In addition Clueless provides a well done version of its own parent script, Emma. Alicia’s Silverstone’s Cher is funny, engaging, smarter than she wants to appear, and good hearted – all of which comes back to bite her at one time or another. She’s a teenager with an outrageous vocabulary and more money than she knows what to do with, but at her core she’s a lonely girl looking for love, acceptance, and a cause bigger than herself.

All teenagers can relate, all adults can relate, and it’s packaged as to not offend or preach. You’ll sit through the hour plus of film laughing and being entertained, but afterward you’ll realize you’ve been given more than entertainment…you’ve also been given food for thought.

This one deserves a home on everyone’s “best movie” list.

What I’m watching right this minute: Nothing, but I’m getting ready to leave for my friends house, where I’ll be enjoying some wine and Eric Dane’s abs Grey’s Anatomy.

Responses

  1. I love this movie. Cher is such a great character.

    You’re great.

  2. I love this movie, too. Didn’t think I would at first (I was afraid it might be just another run-of-the-mill ditzy chick flick), but I soon realized there was substance beneath the surface.

    (Still have seen The Man in the Iron Mask, but it is steadily climbing its way up my Netflix queue. Soon.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

