Posted by: Trisha Leigh | October 10, 2011

We’re All Mad Here

Have you ever been called weird?

I have. On more than one occasion. Most recently on Saturday evening, after a friendly tennis match. My friend was telling me a story about an actress he knows, and about some things he’s heard about her. I gave a real opinion, which I followed up with “well she’s an actress. They’re all a little weird.”

Pause.

Him: “You’re a little weird.”

Now, it pleases me that he and I have arrived at a point in our friendship where we can insult one another and feel sure it won’t be taken in a mean spirit. Also, it’s probably true.

Being weird might be a prerequisite for any person with an artistic mind. I mean, I’m not sure we could create worlds out of nothing, get to know characters that don’t exist outside our minds, or find the will to keep brushing off rejection if we weren’t a little mad to begin with.

Last weekend my father called and invited me to see the Lincoln Center Jazz Orchestra at the new performing arts center in Kansas City. I wanted to glimpse the inside of the monstrosity I’ve watched go up downtown the past couple of years, and I didn’t have other plans, so I agreed to go even though Jazz is not exactly my cup of tea.

I ended up being fascinated by the arrangements, and the fact that each piece had been inspired by something. A painting. An artist. A neighborhood. A culture.

Those are the same things that inspire me.

It made me feel connected to these men that I have nothing in common with, who I don’t know, who play music I don’t understand – because at our center we’re both artists. The way they enjoyed watching one another perform a solo, how the music inspired them still after all this time, how excited they were to push talented colleagues into the spotlight…I understand that. It’s one thing that separates the artistic community from so many others.

We love our art form. I love books. I put the books I love into the hands of others, even though they’re not mine. I push authors into the spotlight because I’m rooting for them, and I’m proud of their accomplishments and, most of all, I want other people to read wonderful books.

It ended up being a wonderful night.

It made me thankful for my community, be they writers, musicians, actors, directors, or painters, and the passions they share with the world.

Sure we’re all a little strange. But we’re strange together.

Image courtesy of Disney.

Responses

  1. I definitely agree. Everyone’s a little weird, but if we all are… is there such a thing as weirdness or is that “weirdness” normality? *Mind bends* Thanks for sharing the post!

    – Ermisenda

    • Thanks for the comment, and I agree. Maybe it’s the “normal” folk we need to watch out for!

  2. Hey, I used to be an actress. (There are those who would argue being a writer means I basically still am an actress.) Does that make me weird?

    (I hope so. Around my house, being called weird is a compliment.)

    • I take it as a compliment as well. And I love actresses. Normal people are boring.

  3. I definitely embrace my weirdness! If anyone says that I’m “normal”, I find myself slightly offended. πŸ™‚

  4. What Bill said!

    Wait…

    • P.S. “It made me thankful for my community, be they writers, musicians, actors, directors, or painters, and the passions they share with the world.”

      Yes.

      • You beat Bill! Thanks for your comment. I’m happy I’ve met people like you through this community. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

