Posted by: Trisha Leigh | November 3, 2011

Not Guilty Pleasures

Mandy Hubbard, a literary agent and author who I follow on Twitter, started a hashtag a few weeks ago and encouraged people to tweet things they enjoyed that other people made them feel badly for enjoying. If you’re on Twitter, you can search #notguiltypleasures and read what everyone had to say.

I found it to be a light bulb causing thing, that tweet. If we like something, why should we let other people, or society, or those damn cats with their disdainful stares, make us feel badly about it?

Here are some things I like that I would have called guilty pleasures a couple of weeks ago:

1. ABC Family movies

2. Nicholas Sparks (early novels, all movies)

3.

Vampire Diaries, Gossip Girl, Hart of Dixie, Secret Circle... LOVE THEM ALL.

4. Being alone

5.

Personally, I think people who don't adore JT are the ones who have issues.

6. Taylor Swift

7. Grey’s Anatomy and Private Practice

8. Cheap wine

9.

Going barefoot. Best feeling in the world.

10. Old Disney films (Darby O’Gill, The Gnomemobile, Pollyanna, Swiss Family Robinson etal.)

11. Spending money on traveling

12. Long, hot baths

So what are some of yours? Give ’em up, people. You know you want to tell me and not feel guilty not one bit.

Responses

  1. This is a great list and a great idea.

    1.) I also love being alone.
    2.) (and possibly related to #1) I love traveling alone. For me, there’s nothing better than a long ride in a car by myself. I can think in quiet and no one asks me for juice.
    3.) Katy Perry
    4.) Painting. I’m awful and wouldn’t ever display it anywhere but it makes me happy.

    • I LOVE traveling alone. Road trips with myself are the best gift ever.

  2. OMG! I love the episode of Ellen when JT surprised Taylor Swift.

    I am not kidding.

    • Wow. I missed that one.. Although JT’s Punk’d is one of my all time favs.

      I am not kidding.

  3. 1. Alone time. (Is this a writer thing?)
    2. Yeah, Grey’s Anatomy for me, too. Used to watch Private Practice, but it interferes with Burn Notice, and I love Burn Notice.
    3. Gourmet jelly beans. Especially the black ones. Mmmm…licorice.
    4. A good foot massage.
    5. I like Taylor Swift, too. I think she’s adorable, and I love her songs.

    • Lot’s of us like Taylor Swift! And alone time šŸ™‚

  4. Seeing movies alone
    Taking walks alone
    Naps
    Hot dogs
    Hockey fights
    Roland Emmerich movies
    Fangoria
    Rhyming poetry
    Winter
    Enya

    • Oh, seeing movies alone is a good one! I think I actually prefer it but no one ever believes me. Thanks for the comment!


Leave a Reply

Categories

