Posted by: Trisha Leigh | December 22, 2011

Something Old…

So now we’ve talked about movies, and it’s time to move on to my favorite returning television shows. I hesitate here, because I know so many of you watch your fancy pay cable series that are just *nose up* SO SUPERIOR to all that network crap, but two things:

1. I’m poor

2. I have no desire to see graphic violence and/or boobs in my television shows on a regular basis. Call me a prude, or whatever, but it makes me uncomfortable. I have made an exception for Game of Thrones, since I enjoy the books so much, but even then there are times I fast forward or cover my eyes. I’m a wimp.

At any rate, these are my favorite television shows, the ones that don’t sit for more than a couple of days on my DVR without making me crazy. Next I’ll do new television shows, because there are (for once) plenty of those to go around too.

5. Gossip GirlIt’s guilty pleasure. You know it. I know it. That doesn’t stop me from loving the crap out of the silly, implausible drama and getting so worked up about whether or not my favorite television couple is finally going to be able to work it out and get their happily ever after. I haven’t been this nervous/sick about a storyline on a television show in…maybe ever. It’s ridiculous. Totes. XOXO.

4. Bones – A year and a half ago I was only watching this show because I review it for Poptimal. Halfway into Season 7, I can’t believe how they’ve turned it around, and while doing the unthinkable at the same time – breaking the sexual tension by putting the main characters into a relationship. It’s working so well for them that I might be forced to eat my words, because not so long ago I was begging Fox to pull the plug on this one.

3. Castle – What a fun police procedural. It’s essentially the same thing as The Mentalist, or Lie to Me (a guy who has no business solving crimes assisting a hot lady police officer) but the interaction and humor brought to the screen by the delectable Nathan Fillion make this one stand out from the crowd and earn its spot on my weekly Must Watch list.

2. Big Bang TheoryΒ – This show just keeps getting better and better. Centered around what, in my opinion, is the most original character written for television in the last ten or so years (who is brought to life by the genius that is Jim Parsons) the comedy is spot on and the supporting characters have found their groove. Now that it’s on TBS 6835x a day, no better time to catch up.

1. FringeΒ – The best show you’re probably not watching. The writing is smart, the acting is way above average (a fact that has sadly gone unrecognized), and the worlds (yes, plural) are so well constructed sometimes the details take my breath away. It’s a story that will bend your mind and break your heart in subsequent moments, and each episode is a work of art unto itself. Come to the party. The combination of J.J. Abrams, John Noble, Anna Torv, and Joshua Jackson will not disappoint you.

Responses

  1. The Big Bang Theory is one of my favorites, although I watch all of these shows (except Fringe; I watched it in the beginning, then let it fall by the wayside). I also cannot stop watching Hart of Dixie, even though it’s terrible — it’s FUN terrible. πŸ™‚

    • OMGosh I LOVE Hart of Dixie. It’s so bad, but it’s so deliciously funny. I’m so much like Zoe it’s a tad scary at times, though. πŸ™‚

  2. LOVE The Big Bang Theory. Pure brilliance. Castle is one of my faves, too. I’ve never seen Gossip Girl.

    I gave up on Bones a while ago, but it sounds like maybe I should give it another try. I’ve only seen a few episodes of Fringe. Sounds like it might be worth hunting down on Netflix.

    • Fringe is definitely worth trying on Netflix, although you don’t get to the crux of the concept until S2. I’m frankly astonished at the way Bones has turned around in the last season.

      Big Bang Theory is brilliant. It now falls into the same category of Seinfeld, for me, as in I don’t really trust people who don’t think it’s funny. πŸ™‚

  3. Other people fast-forward too! it’s okay, so long as you keep watching1

  4. I’m with you on Bones, but not really so much for the romance aspects. The longer running plots with that kidnapper who would entomb his victims and Bones’ family background plus the holiday specials keep me warm and fuzzy. Then you add on the fact that I like eccentric geeky people plus they had David Alan Grier as a guest one time. It is definitely one of my favorite shows.

    And I do enjoy Fringe as well, just because I’m a geek and I like the Twin Peaks aspect of the show, meaning that there are things going on that I don’t get and I like that. I have a sneaky suspicion that there are some sort of clues to be found in the weird symbols that come on screen before commercials, you know, the things with the frog or the 6 fingered hand?

    The three not on your top five that I love to death are House, Warehouse 13 and Merlin. House is just funny because he’s such a screw-up and I like watching him try to handle his addiction yet he’s still brilliant. Warehouse 13 is just great geeky goodness that doesn’t apologize for nerdiness as the team gets to play with those magical historical artifacts. And Merlin is nice because it’s got that dry British wit, actors who are not Hollywood beautiful but are successful still, magic and knights.

    • I have started watching Merlin since ComicCon and I am enjoying it! I’m a little tired of House. *ducks*


Leave a Reply

Categories

