Posted by: Trisha Leigh | January 5, 2012

It’s Like I Don’t Even Know Me Right Now

So it’s that time of year again, where people make resolutions and plans and lists of what they want to accomplish during the upcoming year. Me? What I want is no secret – to take the next step on the road to becoming a published author.

That aside, there are certainly areas of my life that could use, let’s say, work. One of the big ones for me is the financial arena. I’m a spender. A buy it now, think about it later kind of personality. An impulse buyer. With frequent impulses. It’s a good thing my impulse is to buy clothes and not to, like, whack someone random in the face with a frying pan, because then I’d really be in trouble.

This looks like me. Sort of. I don't look good in hats.

Even though my shopping habit isn’t likely to result in assault charges or jail time, it’s still something I’d love to get a handle on, because although the instant gratification is soothing and nice, the subsequent oh-dear-lord-who-spent-all-this-money-now-I’m-broke-how-am-I-going-to-feed-myself moments are not so attractive. Not all of us can look like Amy Adams when having a meltdown.

I’m enacting a plan to attack my horrendous spending habits. Chip away one chunk at a time. Baby steps. One day, one week, one month at a time eventually turns into one year, right?

So here it is. I’m going to say it loud, on this blog, so you are my witnesses.

All of you put up your right hand and shout WITNESS.

I’m not going to buy any clothes or shoes in 2012.*

For some of you, this might not seem like a big deal. Others just gasped and fell out of your chairs. I fall somewhere in the middle as far as an actual fashion lover, but shopping is what I do when I’m feeling down, because looking pretty or snuggling inside soft new clothes makes me happy.

It also makes me stressed and poor, and the truth is, I have enough clothes and shoes to last at least three more years, provided I don’t lose/gain a significant amount of weight.

Can I do it? I’m sure going to try.

It’s 2012. Let’s get crazy.

What are your resolutions for the coming year? How do you plan to keep them, or are you of the mind that these things are meant to be broken?

*I have this adorable dress that I bought about 4 months ago but have not been able to find shoes or a cardigan to wear with it. So, I’m making an allowance for those 2, and only those 2, items. If I find them, they must be purchased, or I can’t wear said adorable dress. And that would be a travesty.

Not compared to like, the animals in the ASPCA commercials or starving children in Africa, but a middle class American white girl travesty, for sure.

Responses

  1. I didn’t know you were a closet shopaholic. (look, a pun!) 🙂

    I don’t really have any resolutions. I guess I make goals as needed throughout the year. I think yours is a good one.

  2. I am gasping.

    Good luck, my friend. 😀


Leave a Reply

Categories

