Posted by: Trisha Leigh | January 10, 2012

Hitting Refresh on My Brain

She twists in the seat, glaring. “So if you know that, what are we doing here, Mae?”

“I want to go see Kira the medium.”

Her mouth falls open, but she can’t seem to find the right words. If there are any for this situation, which seems unlikely.

“It’s a long story. I got this email…”

“Seriously, Maegan? We’re here because you got spam email from a psychic?”

“She’s a medium, actually.”

“Whatever. I can’t believe you.” She crosses her arms. “I’m not going in there. Take me home.”

I almost laugh, because she’ll totally go with me, but don’t want to waste time arguing. “Come on. You have to, because what if Kira is a ninety-five pound bald man named Chester with no teeth who kills people and puts them in his freezer?”

“Are you describing someone you know?”

“You’re not listening. I haven’t even been inside yet, how would I know Chester?”

Lindy sighs and unbuckles her seatbelt. “Just so you know, if we get chopped up by a serial killer named Chester I’m not going to be your friend anymore.”

It’s a new year. I’ve spent the past several weeks eating all of the sugar and butter based concoctions I can get my hands on and not working out, so I’ve got some rebuilding to do as far as muscle mass is concerned.

As we’ve discussed at depressing length, 2011 was a rough year for me, writing wise. I’ve had trouble remember what I love about it, and why it is I’m willing to put myself through all of the pain and growth and critiques and rejection.

So I’ve decided to take what I know about exercising (which is very little) and apply it to my writing life. Sometimes you get to a certain point in your weight loss that no matter how many calories you count or how many times you work out, you stop getting results. Know why?

Because you’re doing the same exercises over and over again. You’ve trained your muscles. They don’t have to work so hard anymore. Or something.

The stories I’ve told so far are all on the heavy side, dealing with intense concepts like fate, humanity, death, and the end of the world as we know it. But the other day I got an idea for a lighthearted mystery, which I’ve been describing as Veronica Mars meets Odd Thomas.

Can I write a mystery? Shrug. Am I funny? Remains to be seen.

But I’ve decided it can’t hurt to stretch writing muscles either.

So that’s what I’m working on. The snippet above is from Chapter 2; after three days of writing I’ve got almost 8,000 words. My main character, Maegan, is full of skepticism and opinions and she pretty much never shuts up. I love her.

I even have a title – What I Know About Charlie – which makes me happy.

It’s a new year. I have big plans.

What about you guys? Any changes in store? Have you ever branched out and written something totally different just to see if you could, or just because you got an idea you couldn’t let go?

Responses

  1. *grabs pom-poms and cheers* Go, Trisha! You can do it!

    I love this. I also have a Megan. Her BFF is Bailey and she’s the one that never shuts up. I am enjoying writing their friendship. I think it’s great to flex writing muscles!

    Now get back there and give me 1000 words. 🙂

    • Thanks, Patty! I love my Maegan. 🙂

      And last night I wrote almost 2k!!

  2. Yes, yes, yes, yes…I can’t agree enough! I’ve been going through a writing identity crisis too. I had a concept I loved, characters I connected with, but no matter how many rewrites or edits I did, the final product didn’t FEEL right. I decided to give it one more shot, but as YA, and I so much love it! Your post is so great and well-timed. Good luck with your new MC!

    • Good for you! Yes, sometimes we have to take a step back, give it some time, and try to figure out what’s missing. And you just can’t push it.

  3. I approve of this message.

    • *stamps with Bill’s approval*

  4. Fun snippet! You should totally go with the flow of this. And not just because I love VM and Odd Thomas. (Okay, maybe because of that. Of course you should write specifically to suit my taste. Everyone should.)

    • Thanks, Linda! And of course. I came up with the entire concept based on what I know of your reading taste. Doesn’t everyone?


Leave a Reply

Categories

