Posted by: Trisha Leigh | March 28, 2012

I Am Lucky. It Might Be Genetic.

That’s what I’m told, at least, because my grandmother is also lucky. She wins at cards so often that people groan silently inside when asked to play with her. I can hear their silent groans. It’s a talent.

I always make sure I’m on Grandma’s Team.

THIS IS MY GRANDMA. YES SHE IS AWESOME. NO YOU CAN'T HAVE HER.

Grandma’s Team or Bust. I need a shirt.

Ahem. At any rate…

Apparently there is this writer’s meme going around the blogosphere. It’s called The Lucky 7 Game, and it’s basically a game of writerly tag. If you’re tagged, you have to do the following:

  1. Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript
  2. Go to line 7
  3. Copy down the next seven lines/sentences as they are – no cheating
  4. Tag 7 other authors

Please note that the rules listed above are a compilation of the two variations as quoted by the lovely lady who tagged me, one Miss Claire Legrand. You can AND SHOULD preorder her debut middle grade novel, The Canvendish Home For Boys and Girls before you finish reading my anticlimactic post.

Back so soon?

Okay. I chose a WIP called Believe, a Historical YA set in early 19th century New Orleans. This is from p.7, and in the opening 6 pages the narrator, Serafine, has been bitten by a rattlesnake in her father’s sugarcane fields.

She was gasping now. It hadn’t been more than ten minutes but she’d never live to see her parents or Charlotte again. Or know if Xavier had secretly wanted to kiss her all these years too.

Serafine struggled at his side for what seemed like hours, not wanting to give up but fighting the desire to lay down and let death win with every step. She glanced down and checked her right leg every few seconds, sure it had caught fire, but no flames smoldered on her dress. Black smudged the edges of her vision and wouldn’t recede no matter how hard she blinked.

A mound of dirt rose up out of nowhere, sending her to her knees despite Xavier’s death grip on her waist.

So there you go! Smallest snippet ever!

I know I’m a few days behind on this game, so if I tag you and you’ve already been tagged by someone else, my apologies. It is, of course, still an honor to be nominated.

I’m tagging:

Jen Stayrook aka Jen the Amazing

Jamie Wyman

MG Buehrlen

Amalia Dillon

Rick Lipman

Ali Trotta

Bill Cameron

Thanks for playing!

Also, totally weird how long it’s been since I blogged. I will be back. That’s a promise. Warning. Whichever.

Responses

  1. I’m having serious grandma envy here. 🙂

    Also, your snippet! Intense. You better keep writing this book!

  2. For SOME STRANGE REASON, when I saw the blog post title, I thought it was about THE LUCKY ONE.

    But let’s face it, your grandmother? I want to hang out with her, because she seems like my kinda gal.

    Also, I love that snippet. Serafine is a great name. Especially when said with a southern accent. I want MORE.

  3. J’aime Serafine et Charlotte et Matty.

  4. […] listed above are a compilation of the two variations as quoted by the lovely lady who tagged the person who tagged me, one Miss Claire Legrand. In fact, I pretty much copy-and-pasted the above from Trisha, with a […]

  5. […] so these aren’t the original rules. They are here. I will not be tagging anyone, because I’m a rebel. Or because I haven’t had enough […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

