Posted by: Trisha Leigh | April 12, 2012

In Which I Show You Mine

So several of my favorite people on the planet, a.k.a. my Twitter writing peeps, got into a discussion Monday morning. It began with Game of Thrones, a topic which is contained in approximately 90% of my conversations lately (and possibly why no one wants to talk to me anymore), but it ended with chatter about our TBR piles.

That’s To-Be-Read, for the uninitiated, and the authors I’ve met are some of the most voracious readers on the planet. I’m just happy I’m not alone in this addiction, although I do fear the lot of us are going to end up on a new TLC show that combines Hoarders, My Strange Addiction, and whatever that messy house show is with the super annoying black lady for a host.

We all admit we have a problem. It’s called acquiring so many books that it would take more than a year to read them even if you didn’t buy any more, which let’s face it, is probably not going to happen (strike the probably).

So we decided to compare TBR piles. Some of theirs put mine to shame (Liz). Or puts them to shame. Either way. Check out Liz Norris, Rick Lipman, and Ali Trotta‘s piles after you peruse mine. Jenn Rush promised to show us hers today, too.

Dan Krokos is also supposed to play, but as he is an established hater of fun, we won’t hold our breath.

So far, in 2012, I have read 14 books (plus three fantastic unpublished manuscripts):

Bossypants by Tina Fey

A Clash of Kings by George RR Martin*

Night by Elie Wiesel

The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour

Wings of the Wicked by Courtney Allison Moulton

Hare Moon by Carrie Ryan

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

White Cat by Holly Black

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

A Storm of Swords by George RR Martin**

Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard

Spell Bound by Rachel Hawkins

Viral by James Lilliefors

Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

*These books should count as two. Or three. Anything over 1K pages isn’t a single manuscript, GRRM.

**Seriously.

Here are the books I have been hoarding. There are 98. NINETY-EIGHT unread books laying around my house. I fully intend to read each and every single one, and enjoy it, too.

Ready to show me yours?

Responses

  1. YAY! I love this. A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY is an excellent book. I really liked that whole series. 🙂

  2. Wait, have you never read JANE EYRE? Or THE GIVER? Is that how I’m to understand this??

  3. Love it. Also love A GREAT AND TERRIBLE BEAUTY. That whole series is fantastic. But your first order of business–you must read GRACELING!

  4. Oh man, I loved MATCHED so much. *sigh* If you wait a few more months for the last book to release, you can read the whole trilogy at once! *is jealous* 😀

  5. Go with “Night” and “Jane Eyre” and I think you’re good to go. Signed, bossy old lady in Seattle. Yes, I said it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

