Posted by: Trisha Leigh | May 10, 2012

Go Sell Crazy Somewhere Else. We’re All Stocked Up Here.

Last Tuesdy, May 1, my manuscript had about 7,000 little words in it. Right now, as I type this post, that same manuscript has passed 40,000 words.

Would you like to know what happens to writers who type over 30,000 words in a single week?

Mostly, I’m just pretty tired and have sore wrists, although there’s also been a lot of staring at the real world in confusion because it’s not the made up world in my head. Actual people who aren’t characters in my book seem like mirages instead of the other way around. I haven’t done laundry or cleaned my kitchen in going on 2 weeks, and showering is a chore I make time for every three days or so.

Yes, I am single. Why do you ask?

Oh, and I got hit in the face with a volleyball at least twice.

Yesterday, I hit rock bottom and started conversing with my characters. It went a little bit like this.

ME: “Okay, guys. I feel really bad about this,but it’s time for the Scary Battle You Think You Can’t Win.”

ALTHEA: “Why won’t we win? We can <redacted> and get out of it unscathed in like, two seconds. Simple.”

ME: “WHY DID I WRITE SUCH A SMART PANTS IT’S ANNOYING. YOU’RE ANNOYING.”

ALTHEA: “It’s not my fault you’re not smart enough to give me a real obstacle.”

ME: “Oh yeah? Well how about I make <redacted> happen? And then I throw some <redacted> at you?”

ALTHEA: *rolls eyes* “That doesn’t change anything. We can still just <redacted>.”

ME: “Fine, you’re right. That’s why I’m going to smash in your boyfriend’s face. I hope you’re happy.”

*tries to curtesy* *falls down* *conks out*

XOXO, lovers.

Responses

  1. LOL! I totally get this. You may be crazy, but you’re not alone.

  2. Wow! You are amazeballs.

    You will high kick all this in the face and make it beg. Love you.

  3. I can’t wait to read this. 🙂

  4. hahaha. I heart you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

